Marine Biology, Here in the Heartland…


Lord Byron wrote, “Roll on, thou deep and dark blue Ocean-roll!

Ten thousand fleets over thee in vain;

Man marks the earth with ruin- his control

Stops with the shore.”

Alas, we are learning that this isn’t so.  For junior year high school this year, my daughter and I were given marine biology to study.  (home-school… a whole other topic!)  Never mind that we’d have to travel days to see an ocean.  I, however, was enthusiastic.  I grew up by the sea, and a part of me never left.  Now I could share it with her, if only through books and websites.  For now.  We’ll go back.

But all is not well with the seas, it turns out.  Can we stop discarding plastics?  Can we stop spewing CO2 into the atmosphere, which is acidifying the oceans???  (I didn’t know about that…)  We are pretty used to our way of doing things.  It is startling to realize that not all that long ago, plastic didn’t even exist!  I believe we can do it, we can learn to live with the world, not at odds with it.

I don’t like catch-phrases very much, but it seems “reducing our carbon footprint” might in fact be a good idea.  Does anyone have any ideas?  

 

One thought on “Marine Biology, Here in the Heartland…

  1. Barbara says:

    Education and awareness are the key, I think, to solving these problems. When I was a kid we didn’t study marine biology, now it seems to be part of a basic curriculum, thankfully. My heart was warmed and filled with hope when I learned what was happening on the property where they tore down the elementary school building my children attended. The new complex now under construction is the Marine Science Magnet High School of Southeastern Connecticut! (Our town is on Long Island Sound.) An encouraging development!

    I used to home-school my daughter when she was high school age. She’s 30 now, and is starting her career in social work. I really enjoyed all the time we spent together during those four years.

Leave a Reply

