It’s the Little Things


This is a photo taken by my friend on our trip to Deception Pass.  Except, I couldn’t seem to access it.  It has been MANY years since I lived out there, and I find the human hand has been heavy in the Pacific Northwest.

“But always the essence of the lives-the finding of food, the hiding from enemies, the capturing of prey, the producing of young, all that makes up the living and dying and perpetuating-is concealed from the eyes of those who merely glance at the surface of the sand and declare them barren.”   -Rachel Carson

Sadly, I found myself a bystander and “home” seems to have shifted to the prairies and savannas and wetlands of  northeastern Illinois.  Here, I’m usually up to my neck in the plant communities I have come to love, along with all the critters to be found.  That is what resonates with me about Rachel Carson’s quote- out there I was merely glancing at the surface and it did look barren to me.  But venture a little way into a tall-grass prairie and my eye quickens to movement- the grasshopper, the hummingbird moth, the spider lurking in the depths of a bloom.

I hope one day to return out there and renew my membership among things wild.  But for now I will revel in the plants and beasties to be found here.

4 thoughts on “It’s the Little Things

  1. skippingstones says:

    Lovely painting! I often realize that I have been skimming the surface when it comes to paying attention to the world around me. It’s beneficial to slow down and really look – take some time with it and appreciate your surroundings. That has made a difference for me in how I view the city as well as the natural surroundings.

Leave a Reply

