Living the Dream


“I used to envy the father of our race, dwelling as he did in contact with the new-made fields and plants of Eden; but I do so no more, because I have discovered that I also live in ‘creation’s dawn.’ The morning stars still sing together, and the world, not yet half made, becomes more beautiful every day.”  -John Muir

a new-made field if I ever saw one

I just read an email from my brother, who lives in Washington.  He sent me a slideshow from a hunting trip he took with a group on horseback.  Pictures of grizzlies, elk, mountain peaks, pack mules… the images swam together in my head getting mixed up with images from books I’ve read about life in the wild west.  How cool is it that that life is still possible, and being lived by one’s own brother?!  Yet, I confess to a stab of jealousy… wildlife in the suburbs of Chicago just isn’t the same thing.

Then I came across the above quote and came to my senses.  Snow fell last night, leaving a magical carpet.  So, I grabbed my camera and ran outside…

Image

5 thoughts on “Living the Dream

  1. Oh, how pretty! Is that a huge snowflake on the top right of the first snow picture? Pretty amazing. And I am now jealous of you and your snow.

    But you are right – I think we’re blinded by the mundane, the general busy-ness of life, the crowded skyline. There’s a need for us to slow down and focus, to look closer, to simply look
    at all. To see. There are so many wonderful things, simple things, that can bring joy and peace to our lives.

    • Yes, it is a snowflake! Isn’t that cool? I didn’t think it was a very good photo at first.

      You, with your beautiful photos, have inspired me to do just that- to focus, and look closer. Thank you!

      ________________________________

      • That’s a sweet thing for you to say. I liked that photo right away! I liked them both a lot, but the top one has this soft and wonderland kind of quality that is really appealing to me.

  2. The snowflake in the picture is amazing! It’s so true… there are little wonders everywhere and we start to find whatever we’re looking for! Love the John Muir quote!

Leave a Reply

