A Wild New Year


Happy New Year to everyone!

I don’t know if you ever experience this, but I frequently have several different ideals wrestling to be uppermost in my mind as I go about my days.  “Be free!  Be innovative!   Be economical!  Be environmental!”  all of which mostly just leaves me feeling mental.  And frozen.  So this year I am hoping to be gentler with myself.  I figure if I can do that, it is bound to spill out into how I treat others and the world in general.  Of course, I really do want to be a little more free, innovative,…etc.

in my garden there runs a wild woman

 

whose job it is to remind me to lighten up and think of the possibilities.  Not that I would run naked through the garden….

Sometimes things get a little off-kilter

but that is ok.

So, in the interest of lightening up, here is my newest painting.  I don’t know what I think of it.  It is kinda wacky, maybe.

Maybe one of these days I will be able to leap all the way into abstraction.  But I’ll be leaving my clothes on in the garden!

8 thoughts on “A Wild New Year

  1. delightfilledart says:

    Funny – I was thinking maybe I would leap out of abstraction and do some illustration this year. I have illustrated a book but have not really got much of a portfolio otherwise. I would like to start building one up. Also want to be more optimistic this year. All the best!

  2. Marianne says:

    Melissa, your painting is gorgeous!

    I relate to a few of the things you mention; several ideals competing for attention, being gentler with self, and lightening up.

    And you wouldn’t catch me leaping naked through your garden either.

    Happy New Year to you! All the very best in 2012!

  3. skippingstones says:

    I have the same tugging contests in my head all the time. We have limited resources: time, energy, money, space, energy, time, energy… Maybe that’s just me :).

    In any case, knowing you, I think anything you choose to do is bound to be wonderful and worthwhile. Even if you did choose to run naked through the garden, I’m sure you would have a good reason for doing it!

Leave a Reply

