blues


Blue is an interesting color, isn’t it?  In some cultures it is sacred; yet, when we are feeling down we say we are blue.  I’m not sure why, really.  When I look at blue I feel cheered…even when I am, well, blue.

I’ve been working on clearing out and revitalizing a basement room to use for my studio.  All sorts of happy thoughts have been dancing in my head about color, texture, sound, to give me the working environment I crave.  However, the floor is gross.  Previous owners glued ugly carpet to the concrete floor.  I’m not interested in using the chemicals it would take to remove that gunk, so first I tried self-adhesive tiles.  well, after pulling up the ugly carpet.  They did not work.  Some stuck, alright, but their adhesive oozed around their edges.  Ick.  Others never stuck.  What a mess.  Well, I thought, I’m an artist.  What’s wrong with putting down paint?  Paint can cover any number of sins, why not glue?  So I’ve been pulling up tiles…and I got SICK.  I’m not sure, but I think it is at least partly a reaction to the adhesives.  yuck.   My left eye swelled shut and everything hurts.  Now I’m afraid to go down there…sigh.

All of this has really led me to think seriously about the materials in our homes.  It is all rather overwhelming, to tell you the truth.  I think I’ll take a nap now.

8 thoughts on “blues

  1. Awww…I’m so sorry you got sick! Just regular sick is bad enough, but then to top it worth some kind of reaction makes it more miserable. I guess you are allergic to the adhesive? Maybe you can do the work in short intervals, before your body has time to react too badly. I hope you can work it out to get your wonderful art studio space completed!

  2. I forgot to tell you that I like the color blue too. Purple is my favorite, but I’ve always thought of myself as a “blue person”, like if I was a color, that’s what it would be. But people do interpret that to mean sad, when it’s not necessarily. I don’t think the sky is sad on a beautiful, clear day.

  3. Melissa, thanks for stopping by, and I hope you are feeling better. Sensitivity to chemicals is a tough thing, I also have lots of reactions to unexpected things. I love the color blue in the garden; for some reason it makes me very happy there but I rarely use it inside the house. Go figure . . .

    • Isn’t that funny? I recently noticed that I love blue but don’t use it much and wondered why. I am going to start finding ways to incorporate it, since it cheers me. I knew a woman whose walls were white and whose furnishings were all shades of lavender. Wow, that was really nice. Maybe a mansion would be good, with a room for every favorite color! Ha!

  4. Thank you for your notes! You were right- a couple more short blasts and I was able to get the rest of the icky things up and gone. Soon I’ll have pictures of the new, dazzlingly painted 🙂 floor….
    Yup, me too, I love purple.

  5. munchow says:

    Yes, paint and glues do have a lot of bad chemicals, and I wonder if the combination might be the culprit. But you are quite right, we do use a lot of unhealthy materials in our homes – unfortunately. Otherwise I agree with you. Blue is a lovely colour.

  6. IsobelandCat says:

    My bedroom is blue and I live it. I use a Dulux paint called Blueberry Crush. When I was little, one of my great aunts had a blue bedroom. She had ornaments in it, all blue. Everything was blue. I lived it, everyone else thought it was terrible. Maybe Great Aunt Eve’s influence is coming to the fore now!

Leave a Reply

