Oh, Deer


You may remember my telling you last year that my favorite place, Illinois Beach State Park, was closed due to fallen trees.  Freak winds turned the woods into jack straws~ I’ve never seen anything like it.  I rejoice to say that most of the trails are open again.  Getting to walk “my” trails after a whole year of separation was kind of emotional for me.  I realized just how much this place meant to me.  Here are some images I took:

Image

Image

It’s hard to really grasp how much damage occurred here.  Well, damage may not be the right word.  Although I have never seen anything like this happen in these woods, I know that the ecosystem as a whole thrives on disturbance.  Now that so many of the black oaks are down, the canopy has opened up.  Plants like the lupine are quick to respond to increased light…Image

Along the way, I met this handsome young fellow :

Isn’t he a charmer?  So long as he and his kind stay in balance numbers -wise, I’m delighted to see him.

4 thoughts on “Oh, Deer

  1. So glad you’re back in your favorite place. I think you’ll be amazed at how quickly the land will bounce back from the destruction. It’s amazing to see how much Yellowstone has bounced back from the huge fires they had there in 1988.

    • Oh, yes, I know! The first experience I had seeing nature bounce back was in a nature preserve where fire had been reintroduced after 50 years of suppression. It was just like watching a Disney film~ plants that had been lying dormant in the shade sprang to vibrant life. It was magical. Thanks for stopping by!

      ________________________________

  2. It is interesting how what seems like devastation to us is really just business as usual to mother nature. We get so emotionally attached, and with our measily little life spans, it’s harder for us to see the big cycles of nature. I love your paintings, as always!

    • Hi Michelle, Yeah, I think about that too, our little life spans and how important we think things are. If you’re ever near Chicago look me up~ we’ll paint together! 🙂

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

