Going With the Flow


Illinois Beach State Park in Abstraction

 

Recently I had the great good fortune to have work accepted in another gallery.  I’ve had my eye on this gallery for some time, for I love its charm.  Called the “Back Alley Gallery”, it is housed in a wonderful little building tucked in behind stores in Libertyville, a town near my home.  Libertyville is one of those towns you wish you lived in…concerts in the park amid the rose garden, several coffee shops and local eateries, etc.  People get out and walk around, here.  All year something is going on to draw people out.  And, art thrives here!

I’ve been working away, building up an inventory, and this year I decided it was time to get out there and get noticed.  Heart pounding, I went in to introduce myself.  I’m so glad I did.  I found the owners to be kind , warm, and welcoming.  I showed them my portfolio, and was surprised that the ones they all gravitated to were the abstract pieces I had put in there just for fun!  Who knew?  I have thought that people are growing tired of representational art and are hungering for the essence of things, not just the representation of them.  What do you think?  Have you noticed this as well?

At any rate, in honor my new gallery, I thought I’d better do  some more abstract paintings.  I hope you like it, and I would welcome any comments on how it might be improved.

12 thoughts on “Going With the Flow

  1. skippingstones says:

    Congratulations on getting into the gallery! I think you were wonderful and brave to go in and introduce yourself to them. I would have had a pounding heart too.

    I don’t know anything about art, so I’m not a good one to answer your question. I wouldn’t have known this painting was abstract if you hadn’t said so. But I know what I like, what appeals to me. I don’t think I’ve seen anything of yours that didn’t appeal to me!

    • melissabluefineart says:

      Really? That is awesome! I feel the same. What a relief to paint abstract, sometimes, and use all my favorite colors. By the way, I continue to enjoy and learn from your blog. I love the tiny visitors you sometimes catch.

      ________________________________

  2. ShimonZ says:

    My advice is to paint that which you love the most, in a style that you think expresses yourself, and your personality, as much as you can… and to ignore what is popular and what not. You can change your style as you go forwards, or your subjects. That is common among many artists. We don’t have to be loyal to what worked for us in the past. But to find meaningful art in ourselves, we have to try and get as close as possible to our inner self.

Leave a Reply

