Dead River Roses


Image

Here are some summer roses, fresh off the easel!  I don’t know about all of you, but I needed a reminder that the earth can do something besides hard, cold and grey.

Although this river is called the “Dead River”, it is anything but.  It arises in the heart of a sedge meadow that I am pretty sure is a glimpse of heaven, and flows gently toward Lake Michigan.  So slowly, in fact, it seems more like a long pond than a river.  Much of the time it is blocked by a sandbar which I believe is the reason for its name; it arises and ends right there in the park…except for when it doesn’t.  In those exciting moments when it blows out the sandbar, WATCH OUT!  It surges out into the lake, forming a standing wave of tremendous power.  People have been swept far out into the lake.  So, sort of a sleeping dragon, is my favorite river.

This and all paintings are available at http://www.melissabluefineartandgardendesign.com

6 thoughts on “Dead River Roses

  1. beautiful fresh colors, good for my heart!

  2. Spring has been something of a sleeping dragon this year in Austin, too, where we’ve had close to record cold some nights. But soon people will be complaining about the heat, so enjoy the cool while you have it.

  3. Hi Steve,
    You’re right about that. I saw a wonderful bumper sticker the other day that sort of applies here~ it read: “I’d rather be here now”.

  4. ridicuryder says:

    MelissaBlue,

    Your stuff is wonderful…..a curious dragon is wondering how you made it to Nebraska?

    RidicuRyder

  5. Hi there, RidicuRyder,
    Thanks for stopping by. I am so pleased that you like my work. To clarify, this is the Dead River that runs(sometimes) through Illinois Beach State Park. Are you from Nebraska? Of all the places I’ve been, I don’t think I’ve ever been to Nebraska.
    I’ve been enjoying reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

