Ephemeral Spring


Image

http://www.melissabluefineartandgardendesign.com

 

I adore spring, and this has been a doozy.  Cold temperatures are keeping the blooms a little longer, but they are also holding things back.  This has its advantages, because once things get going, it is hard to keep up!

I just finished this portrait of Tradescans ohioensis, a native wildflower that holds a special place in my heart.  As I look at it, I find I feel just a little melancholy.  I think that is because in my effort to capture a moment, I inadvertently  also captured the fleeting nature of that moment.  Timeless but brief, all at the same time.  Maybe it is the fact that I turn 50 tomorrow.  I don’t mind turning 50, but I do notice that my view of life has changed dramatically.

Cheers, and I hope you get to go out and enjoy some wildflowers!

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Ephemeral Spring

    • melissabluefineart says:

      Katleen, I sure appreciate your well wishes! Sometimes I wonder whether it is too late for all the things I’d hoped to accomplish; it took me so long to realize my right path! You make me feel that it isn’t too late after all. Thank you! Also, I just love the emotions you can evoke in your paintings. They are wonderful.

      ________________________________

  1. Michelle says:

    Happy Birthday! And happy Mother’s Day. I think the painting is lovely, and I think all of your flower paintings are lovely. Perhaps this one feels a little melancholy because of the blue tones? I do wish flowers lasted longer, but we wouldn’t appreciate them as much if they did.

Leave a Reply

