Butterflies, Goldfinches, and Other Happy Things


Image

http://www.melissabluefineartandgardendesign.com

 

Picture a warm summer afternoon in the nature preserve.  The sun is beginning to sink, sending its rays glancing off the flowers, creating highlights here and there like flitting memories.  And then your eye is caught~ a swallowtail!

That is the story behind this latest painting.

Today I’m blissing out : gentle rain is pattering down, keeping the air cool.  Penstemon is swaying outside my window, I have a cup of coffee close at hand.  Ah.  So good.  I just came up from the studio, where I have been working on a large painting of a prairie.  Goldfinches will be in the foreground~ I can’t wait to share it with you.  Anyway, when I came up the stairs I was startled by a flash of yellow.  Could it be?  Yes!  a pair of goldfinches in my garden!  How cool is that?

I hope these words and image can give a little lift to you.  I’ve been distressed to learn that some of my favorite people are facing scary health issues right now.  I want to send out healing thoughts to everyone who might be feeling scared or alone or hurting.  I know that sounds a bit vague and trite, but you know who you are and I want you to know I’m thinking of you.

5 thoughts on “Butterflies, Goldfinches, and Other Happy Things

  1. Coral Cottage Kim says:

    Melissa it does give me a lift. I love gold finches and can’t wait to see you add them. As always, your choice of color adds to the dreamy quality of the painting.
    Your kind words to others are a gift.

  2. jordanclary says:

    I love this painting. You can feel the wind and the pink flowers (foxgloves?) against the butterfly — beautiful! I’m sorry to hear you have friends with scary health issues. I know what that’s like, and it seems like that’s been coming up in my life (with friends) lately too.

    • melissabluefineart says:

      Thank you Jordan!  The flowers are Blazing Stars, or Liatris.  They are part of the prairie community I like to hang out in.  It is really tough when people we care about are struggling, isn’t it?

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

