Don’t Close the Door


Image

 

I’ve been shy about sharing this piece, because it arose from a dream I had while in therapy some years back.  In the dream, I’d been sent to the store on an errand and a force was resisting my efforts to close the door.  After a bit I realized that it was God, trying to shine love in my life, and there I was trying to close the door!

What prompted me to bring this up today is a desire to celebrate the amazing progress my daughter is making.  We’ve been working our way through the book, “The Woman Who Changed Her Brain”, by Barbara Arrowsmith -Young.  If you know anyone who suffers from learning disabilities, I cannot recommend this book enough.  

Every morning we run through a series of brain exercises that were developed by the author.  Progress was slow at first- well, you’d expect that.  But now, a year later, I’m watching her make connections with abstract ideas her doctors had said she’d never be able to do.  She’s even memorized the poem , “Invictus”!

So there you go.  No matter how completely the path before you appears to be blocked, do not give up. 

14 thoughts on “Don’t Close the Door

  1. Oh Melissa, how beautiful, your art, and especially the victory you celebrate with your daughter. xok

  2. Hi Kim,
    Thanks so much for the good morning boost you’ve just given me! xoxo

  3. Mind Margins says:

    I love this painting, and I especially love the story and connection to your daughter behind it. So inspiring!

  4. Mind Margins says:

    As a matter of fact, this may be my favorite painting of yours ever. Interestingly, I had a nightmare very recently where I was trying to close a closet door and an “evil force” kept pushing back against me from the closet. Inside the closet was myself, curled up and scared. I cried out in my sleep and woke up my husband!

    • Wow, that dream gives me goosebumps. Did you ever read “The Artist’s Way”? She says that the monsters in our closets are really parts of ourselves, needing to be understood and loved. Your spirit is very strong, Angela!

  5. jordan clary says:

    Wow! What a great story, and I love the painting. There’s so much emotion in it. And that’s great about your daughter! If she’s memorizing poems like Invictus she’s doing better than most college students.

  6. Michelle says:

    I really like this piece! And I can relate to it a lot!

Leave a Reply

