On the Path


Image

 

www.melissabluefineartandgardendesign.com.

 

Today I’ve brought you to an imaginary trail at a very real site.  This birder is enjoying the prairie restoration as it might appear some years from now.  Previously, Fort Sheridan was a military installation on the shore of Lake Michigan.  There are wonderful photos of the soldiers riding their horses into the waves after exercises to cool them.

The title I gave this post  reflects what I’ve been pondering lately.  I recently read a wonderful book about Mary Cassatt and her relationship with the Impressionists.  How they struggled~ with their inner visions, with critics, with each other.  As Manet lies dying, the author has him realizing that all is Love, and that nothing they wrestled with mattered in the end.  This kind of rocked me back on my heels.  If nothing matters, then…?

After chewing on that for a little while I realized what the author meant.  Our efforts do matter, although not in the way we are accustomed to think.  After all, once we’re dead what difference does it make how many units of widgets we sold or how much money we accumulated or how big a house we had.  And it didn’t matter how the artists painted.  It just mattered that they did.  The originality they sought would have emerged regardless, in the doing.  It is the love we infuse into what we do that matters.

The Impressionists changed art forever, just by painting from their soul and being in their moment.  I believe it is that way for all of us.  We can wring our hands over the changes to the planet, or we can get on with doing what we believe to be right.  

So, here’s to nature restoration, and the art of whatever it is each of us does with our lives.  May it be infused with light.

 

5 thoughts on “On the Path

  1. Mind Margins says:

    You’ve given me lots to think about today, Melissa. I think most of us intrinsically know that all the things we think are important in our lives really aren’t, and yet we make few changes. I think if Love was always our background intention in everything we did, the world would be a very different place.

  2. I really like how you put that, Angela. Beautiful.

  3. Even before I started to read your text I thought: Impressionists.

  4. Hi Steve!
    Right you are 🙂

Leave a Reply

