Connecting With Nature, Connecting with Inner Spirit


River Meadow, IBSP

As I may have mentioned, recently I got to be part of a 3-artist show at the Lemon Street Gallery in Kenosha.  That was a delightful experience.  Here were all these walls to fill, and the other two artists were mostly doing jewelry and sculpture.  After I hung about 20 paintings and stood back, I was struck by the fact that there wasn’t an underlying theme.  Some botanicals, some landscapes, some gardenscapes.  Hmmm. And of course when people arrived, so did their questions.  They wanted, naturally enough, to know what it was I wanted to convey.  Well, I’ve been giving that some thought and here is what I’ve come up with.  I create art to help people connect with nature and with their inner spirit.  Now that I know that is what I’m about, I can look for ways to make that message clear in my paintings.  

So, here is my wish for peace and connectedness to all of you this steamy hot July afternoon!

Wren (detail)

 

8 thoughts on “Connecting With Nature, Connecting with Inner Spirit

  1. Steve Schwartzman says:

    I was going to ask what kind of bird that is, but then I moused over the detailed view and read from the URL that the bird is a wren. That in turn reminded me of Edward Lear’s lines:

    There was an Old Man with a beard,
    Who said, ‘It is just as I feared!
    Two Owls and a Hen,
    Four Larks and a Wren,
    Have all built their nests in my beard!’

    You can see Lear’s illustration for his ditty at:

    http://www.nonsenselit.org/Lear/BoN/bon010.html

  2. melissabluefineart says:

    Oh, how fun! I haven’t come across those lines in quite awhile but they always bring a smile, don’t they? … Think I’ll pass them along to my son, who is growing a dandy of a beard.

  3. Steve Gingold says:

    I also have not thought about what i have been trying to convey. I always just respond to what I come across and hope others will get some pleasure from the image. I guess if I look at it as you have done then that is my message…Appreciate and Enjoy! 🙂
    These last few days have been steamy hot too. We are now waiting for a line of thunder boomers to arrive which will bring some cooling relief for the rest of the week. The change is most welcome but the boomers not so much.

  4. circadianreflections says:

    I love this painting! That little Wren reminds me of the Bewick’s Wren that visits my yard daily for nearly 2 years now. I think he lives in a neighbors Oleander Bush.

    I always find my center/balance when out in nature. I think your art evokes some of those feelings I get when out in the woods, or forest.

Leave a Reply

