Garden Art!


Poppy window

www.melissabluefineartandgardendesign.com 

New ideas come slowly to me, so when one does, I get pretty excited.  One of the things that bums me out about living in Illinois is how bleak things look as soon as the leaves fall.  I stare out my window and see grey.  And brown. For months and months.  **sigh.**

 Then it hit me~ what if I painted something to bolt to the wooden fence where I can see it?  So, that burbled away on a back burner for an embarrassingly long time until the day my eye fell on an old basement window that has been kicking around forever.  Wait!  What if I found outdoor paint and…

And so here it is.  As soon as I am brave enough, I’m going to see if I can figure my way around the power drill and bolt this baby to the fence.  I’m definitely going to start scouring the garage for other interesting castoffs, too, because it occurs to me that I might not be the only one craving something pretty to look at from a window.  If you want one, let me know!  I’ll be posting them to my website as I finish them.    Please forgive my shameless moment of self-promotion…

17 thoughts on “Garden Art!

  1. This is a great idea, Melissa. Maybe decorating other people’s stuff too. I used to have a furniture repair business in the house. Along with a couple pieces of furniture, one family asked me to glue then strip an old door. If I remember correctly, it was from one of their parents’ homes and their daughter wanted it as a keepsake table. When I was done I delivered it to an artist who decorated it to the wishes of the young girl and she was thrilled.
    So outdoors or in, you may be on to something…especially if it is as attractive as your window. 🙂

  2. Bob says:

    I recall the bleak winters in the Midwest. Anything you can do to add some color is worthwhile and to live artfully, even better…bob

  3. Jim in IA says:

    That is a terrific idea. I like the flowers on the window. I’m eager to see what other ideas you come up with. This one is a winner.

  4. Thank you so much, Jim!

  5. About your first paragraph: that’s why I moved away from the Northeast where I grew up.

    About the other two paragraphst: have you ever read O. Henry’s story “The Last Leaf”? If not, and if you have 10 minutes, you’ll see why your post reminded me of it:

    http://www.eastoftheweb.com/short-stories/UBooks/LasLea.shtml

  6. That sounds great to me! Wouldn’t it be fun to meet up and go out in the field together?

Leave a Reply

