Lift Off


Lift Off

All is well.

25 thoughts on “Lift Off

  1. This makes me smile! This bird flies when ever it feels the need. I wish I could too so often. Wonderful colors and composition!

    • I’m so glad it makes you smile~ thank you.

      • sheryldevore says:

        Melissa, I love your work — I just now realized that you and I are both friends with Linda Curtis — and that you’ve sent the egret drawing to her. I would love to have one of your photos grace the cover of the journal I edit called Meadowlark. All the best, Sheryl

      • Hi Sheryl, Thank you for stopping by, and for your kind comment! Yes, it’s fun that we are both connected through Linda. I’d be delighted to have you use my image for the journal you edit. I’d love to read it, too. I don’t know whether I ever told you this, but waaaaay back in the early 80’s you were my judge for flute solo contest 🙂 Isn’t that neat? Your comments were kind, then, too. I discovered this when going through an old box.
        Warm Regards, Melissa
        ps perhaps we can connect in the real world too?

  2. Andrew says:

    I love the style in which you paint. Such soft colours and strokes. All is indeed well.

  3. Good morning Andrew,
    Thank you.

  4. As Andrew commented, I too love the way you paint, Melissa. The soft colors and soft light always complement your subject perfectly. There is a gentle energy in this that is buoying and very pleasurable.

    • That makes me very happy, Steve. This bird seemed to have a gentle energy of its own, beyond what I was doing. Does that ever happen with your photography?

      • In a manner, Melissa. Quite often I will find a surprise in a photograph. Maybe a bird, a plant or some color that turns out to be noteworthy that I somehow missed during the shoot. A while back I posted an image that had a kingfisher in a tree top that I had not seen at the time of shooting. 2nd image down: http://sggphoto.wordpress.com/2013/08/15/08-15-2013-foggy-poor-farm-swamp-with-a-dragonfly-chaser/

      • Very nice.  I would not have known the distant bird was also a kingfisher.  I have a great fondness for them~ hopefully I’ll be able to sketch one one of these days.  Also have a great fondness for your fog photos.  I want them all! 🙂

        From: “Melissabluefineart's Blog” To: melissabluefineart@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, October 13, 2014 5:42 PM Subject: [Melissabluefineart’s Blog] Comment: “Lift Off” #yiv8349572030 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8349572030 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8349572030 a.yiv8349572030primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8349572030 a.yiv8349572030primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8349572030 a.yiv8349572030primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8349572030 a.yiv8349572030primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8349572030 WordPress.com | | |

      • Lately I do seem fixated on having fog in my landscapes. I guess it is a metaphor for how I walk through life.

      • From: “Melissabluefineart's Blog” To: melissabluefineart@yahoo.com Sent: Tuesday, October 14, 2014 6:19 PM Subject: [Melissabluefineart’s Blog] Comment: “Lift Off” #yiv7106346929 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7106346929 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7106346929 a.yiv7106346929primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7106346929 a.yiv7106346929primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7106346929 a.yiv7106346929primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7106346929 a.yiv7106346929primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7106346929 WordPress.com | | |

      • Lately, I’ve got a few replies that look like the one above. Not sure what happened.

      • I’m sorry about that, Steve. I realize I was trying to reply from my email inbox, instead of this nifty box thingy. I’ll try to do better in future 🙂

      • I’ve done that too, Melissa. So that’s what it looks like. 🙂

  5. Jim in IA says:

    I feel you captured the essence with just the right angle.

    • Awesome, Jim, thank you! When I’m painting I’m having so much fun, and then I can’t wait to share the image with all of you. But then I agonize whether it was good enough or should I have tweaked it here or there…
      It means a great deal to me to have such good friends to encourage me.

  6. Melissa – this is so beautiful! WOW I think it is my favorite.

  7. Thanks Kim! 🙂 I really like painting birds.

  8. shoreacres says:

    I’m surrounded by these beauties day in, day out. You’ve captured their flight so well. The only thing as graceful are the blue herons on their own way home at the end of the day. The great, slow wingbeats are purposeful and calming, all at the same time.

  9. Color and composition: the phrase “pastel diagonality” popped into my mind. Soft, too.

  10. Yes, I like that. This was a commission for a dear friend of mine~my botany teacher, in fact. She is always looking up (well, when not contorting herself for a good shot of a rare carex, her specialty) with a glint in her eye. I held her in my thoughts as I painted the egret and when she saw it, she declared it a likeness. Boy, was I delighted 🙂

  11. Maria F. says:

    Beautiful, gorgeous work!

Leave a Reply

