Painter’s Joy


Ruebush Mountains

Usually, my life is pretty quiet.  Not this week, though… it has been a whirlwind of appointments and varied urgencies.  What a relief when I could slip down to my studio and lose myself in a painting.  This one in particular has been a delight.  It is a commission from someone whose blog I have been enjoying for some time now.  I have been lucky here in blogland, “meeting” some wonderful people that I would never have gotten to meet otherwise.  Being trusted with a special memory is such an honor and I really wanted to get it right.

Today was the day.  To my delight, my client wanted me to meet him and his wife at the Oregon IL. library, a halfway point for both of us.  The library there is a very beautiful old building, with an art gallery in the upstairs.  How great is that?  The area was once the site of an artist colony, and the library would host their events.  In return the artists donated work to the library, and these are the works that are on display.  I was amazed to find paintings and sculptures worthy of a major art museum tucked into the upstairs of a library in rural Illinois.  I am not doing justice to the story, but if you are ever in the area I strongly recommend a visit~it is wonderful.

We arrived at just about the same time, and introduced ourselves.  In the library we were shown to a room where we could visit and the painting could be revealed~ he had commissioned it as a gift for his wife.  I was holding my breath as the wrapping came off, I can tell you!  Her reaction was everything I could have hoped for.  It was a very moving moment, and I am so grateful to have been a part of it.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart, my two new friends.

17 thoughts on “Painter’s Joy

  1. Steve Gingold says:

    Outstanding, Melissa! Congratulations. It is a lovely painting and it sounds like you made them both, but especially the wife, very happy. I’m going to guess that the couple in the painting are the folks in your story and that is a place that is very special to them. Am I close? 🙂

  2. shoreacres says:

    What a wonderful experience for you. I can only imagine how nerve-wracking it must have been to wonder: will it meet the expectations? Clearly, it did, and for good reason. It’s wonderful when our work becomes part of someone’s life.

  3. melissabluefineart says:

    It sure was wonderful. Yes, it really is moving when what we do touches other people, isn’t it? Like your way with words, which I love to savor. Not to mention photos! I loved the ones by the river 🙂

  4. Maria F. says:

    Congrats on your commission, and your painting is gorgeous. It reminds me so much of Van Gogh’s colors, bold and vibrant. A beautifully rendered Nature scene with the human subjects included in such harmonious way.

  5. circadianreflections says:

    What a gorgeous place, and image! I’ll add my congratulations to the list for the commission, and for two new friends!

    It’s so beautiful I want to go there and breath in the beauty.

    I hope next week is a bit calmer for you. xx

  6. melissabluefineart says:

    Thank you Deborah 🙂 It looks like a place I’d love to go hang out, too.
    This week is looking a bit calmer, and it is 50 outside! Think I’ll go for a walk before the deep freeze hits later. I hope you are safe, with all the crazy weather out there I’ve been hearing about!

  7. Steve Schwartzman says:

    It’s late and I must be tired because when I got to your phrase “and lose myself in a painting” my mind transformed it into “and pose myself in a painting.” There are people in the painting, after all, and one of them could have been you, even though it isn’t.

    I’m happy for your painter’s joy and for the clients’ as well.

Leave a Reply

