What Was Needed


Spring Bluff Marsh

www.melissabluefineart.com

Ahh, January.  I love the clean crispness of January.  I clean out my studio and begin again, looking through my stash of photos and sketches for my next project.  Fresh new canvases thrill me to my fingertips, but I don’t hesitate to paint out a painting from last year that didn’t ever quite gel.  Sometimes, though, they are sort of in between.  Not bad enough to paint out, yet something is missing… This weekend when I was flipping through old photos an old snag caught my attention.  Ah-HAH!  That’s what was missing in my Spring Bluff Marsh~ a big ole gnarly tree.  So I scooped up some colors and let them mush together in the shape of a snag.  Now I’m happy.

Life is like that, isn’t it?  Sometimes the thing that is missing is really already there, you just aren’t seeing it.  It is so satisfying when the needful thing clicks into place.

12 thoughts on “What Was Needed

  1. It is a beautiful painting, Melissa. Perhaps you could add a bird or two ;-)) I love the Purple Irises in the foreground. Its a very tranquil scene and better for the snag.

    1. Thanks Andrew. I thought about birds for this one but wanted to keep it simple. I do have some birds coming soon 🙂

  2. I have a thing for snags and am very happy to see this one in your lovely colorful marsh, Melissa. I think it is quite a nice advantage to have the ability to add and subtract elements from an artwork. It’s also good to sometimes lay a piece to the side for a while when one hits a spot that requires some thought. It’s much the same when processing an image.

    1. I have a thing for snags, too 🙂 Just love them. I never thought about it, but it makes sense that sometimes you have to set aside an image for thought, too.

  3. I agree with Steve. A fresh view is such a big help sometimes. It works for painting, photography, quilting, and writing. Basically all creative endeavors.

    We had guests over this evening. I was pleased to show them a special painting on our wall.

  4. Too cool! It just took a while for the vision to come to you and you salvaged your earlier efforts

    1. Thanks Michael! Does this happen for you as well? I love the idea of your art spirit village. A space for only positive thoughts and energy… here comes some 🙂

  5. Isn’t it funny, that in some places, like a sweater, a snag if a flaw, while in other places, it’s a lovely highlight! We talk about running into a snag as an impediment, and river pilots or fishermen dread snags. But here? It works beautifully.

    Sometimes, when I find a piece just isn’t working, but I dearly love a portion of it, I’ll do the same thing. I’ll keep what I like, and let the rest go. Eventually, what I’ve kept may find a home elsewhere. It may take a good bit of time, but that’s one reason I skim through all of my draft files and bookmarks every three months or so — just to refresh myself about what’s there, waiting to be used.

    1. That’s cool. I like the idea of that~pieces of writing in a holding tank of sorts, floating, waiting for their chance to come out and sparkle.

  6. Life is most definitely like that. Beautiful and calming scene.

    1. It’s fun, really, isn’t it? It has taken me 50 years to realize that life is a game, not something to get all anxious about but now I’m here I am enjoying it immensely. Mostly.
      Thank you for commenting~I’m glad you like the painting 🙂

Leave a Reply

Automatic Gardening & Real Gluten Free Food

My quest to garden year-round without adding new plants. My second quest is to find GF recipes.

Katrina Head

Artist in the south of France

Kip Walkin

Welcome to Kip Walkin. The site for inspired & original poetry, quotes, articles and stories....as products of Pen on Paper!

The Prairie Ecologist

Essays, photos, and discussion about prairie ecology, restoration, and management

twenty-one words

(tales from the birdgirl)

Doodlewash®

Adventures in Watercolor Painting and Sketching, Watercolour Magazine, with Charlie O'Shields

The Obama Diary

President Barack Obama ... photos, videos & a word or two

bluebrightly

Wanderings & observations

talainsphotographyblog

Nature photography

sabinewaldmannbrun

Farbe. Linie. Sehen.

Swamp Yankee Style

Country life, Done simple! DIY Projects, Family Recipes, Thrifty Tips and Farmyard fun!

The Art Dive

Art Pickings from Exhibitions, Articles, Books, and the Web

Photos by Donna

It's all about the jouney.....not the destination!

The Wandering Armadillo

I am the "little armored one", moving gently through life. Hoping to safeguard my sensitivities with layers of words and the expression of thought. Shielding my mirror neurons at times, or tasting music and spinning till I'm dizzy. Every moment here is a gift.

Soul Lines - Diary of a Soul Writer

Living life like there is a tomorrow

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

Pete Hillman's Nature Photography

Photographing the beauty and wonder of Staffordshire wildlife and more

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close