Winter’s Hush


Winter Hush

www.melissabluefineart.com

When I started writing a blog, it was with trepidation.  That is probably true for most of us.  Over time, though, I have met all of you, and you have come to mean so much to me.  I want you to know that when I dance into my studio every day, you come with me.  We are in good company, too.  We have Barbra Streisand, in there, and U2 and Bach. 🙂

Yesterday I scrubbed out a garden painting that was resisting me, and decided to play with snow instead.  So this little painting was born.  I started out with very dark green, and purple, and blue.  Then the fun started, with splatters of white that I let drip down the canvas, right into the wet dark paint.  This morning I returned to paint in some limbs, and finally the wind chime.  This wind chime is one of my very favorite things in the world.  It is a big one, with deep chords.  It is murmuring to me right now, keeping me up to date on how things are going out there.

Thank you for coming to play with me!

29 thoughts on “Winter’s Hush

  1. Jim in IA says:

    Our various blogger friends bring different kinds of things to the party each day. Some offer poems, pictures, nature, politics, music, science, etc. You bring the beauty of painting. How nice to have these things and the ability to interact.

    Thanks to you and the others for their good offerings.

  2. And thanks to you, Jim. You raise our eyes to the heavens…

  3. Andrew says:

    It is interesting to a non-artist that a painting can resist you. I know what you mean. What is so wonderful is that you can rework it into something that does work and we can then enjoy it. Blogging is harder than people think. It is also a good motivator to get out and play with the camera (for me). I write for myself and if others enjoy it that is a bonus. It is a good community and we play willingly with you,

    • Yes, that’s it, isn’t it~ we blog for ourselves and it is such a pleasant surprise when others come to play. I am more likely to be myself here than in the “real” world, so it is doubly delightful to find such a good community. There is a lesson in there for me.

  4. I love that wind chime! I have one very similar hanging in my patio. I love the green patina, and tones it makes; not deep tones, mine is more middle C tones. 🙂
    You don’t know how many times I wish I could scrub out a scene when out in the field with my camera and wish it into the one I’ve envisioned.
    Bach is with me quite often. He’s one of my most loved composers.

    • Wow~ kindred spirits 🙂 One of the best things about getting older is giving myself permission to wipe out a painting that isn’t working. I wish you could do that too…without having to use the “delete” key!

  5. With regard to your blog friends, you must feel that U2 symbolizes “you too.” Bach can add a touch of nature because Bach is the German word for brook. Streisand, ever a New Yorker at heart, offers toasted bagels with cream cheese to keep you from getting hungry.

    • I didn’t know that Bach means brook in German. That is neat. And by all means, let’s keep the toasted bagels coming…how did you know? 🙂

      • Just as English has names like Eastbrook, Westbrook, Sunnybrook, and Shadybrook, German has names like Carlsbach (Carl’s Brook), Neubach (New Brook) and Engelbach (Angel Brook). Whether you can get bagels at any of them, I don’t know.

  6. Your talk of a painting resisting you reminds me of the way Théophile Gautier’s poem “Art” begins:

    Oui, l’oeuvre sort plus belle
    D’une forme au travail
    Rebelle,
    Vers, marbre, onyx, émail.

    Yes, a piece of work emerges more lovely
    From a form that rebels against being worked:
    Verse, marble, onyx, enamel.

    • How many languages are you fluent in? I think you must be a polymath. I’ve always loved that word, and on you I think it fits 🙂
      This is a wonderful poem. I’ll remember it the next time I’m fighting a painting. Thank you for sharing it with me.

  7. I saw your wind chime as a svelte and snow-covered gazebo by a boulder in the woods.

  8. That is a lovely image, Steve.

  9. shoreacres says:

    I have a windchime, too, and I love it equally well. It’s a tuned chime (pentatonic, alto) and it sings only on a WNW – NE wind, being blocked from all southerly breezes. It’s always my first sign of coming autumn, or of a norther blowing in. Even the slightest wind will enliven it, and make me smile.

    I’ve never thought of a wind chime in snow. It’s a delightful double image: of the silence of winter, and the possibility of song even then.

  10. There is peace in your painting, Melissa. It has such a gentle feel. I am also a lover of wind chimes and have a tuned set hanging outside the kitchen window. If I sit beside them in a faint breeze, their intermittent ringing lasts in gradually quieting resonance for almost a minute.
    I really like the combination of the verdigris(? I am seeing this on my non-color calibrated Kindle) and falling snow.

    • It is so nice to listen to a wind chime like that, isn’t it? Mine is sort of a soundtrack running through my days. I’m so glad you like that~ the verdegris against the falling snow~ I liked that too. It was a peaceful evening. All that beauty, right outside the window! I didn’t even have to go out in it! 🙂

  11. Melissa – thank you for sharing your space, your talent and your ability to wrap it all together in sincere words from the heart. I can hear those chimes ringing their song.

  12. Anarette says:

    Your paintings are always so peaceful;, very nice colors too.

  13. Maria F. says:

    I really like how the frozen branches look and the whole mood.

  14. I appreciate that, Maria. Thank you!

  15. Dan Antion says:

    That does sound like good company. You do such beautiful work.

  16. That is so nice of you, Dan. Thank you!

  17. You captured the magic well!

Leave a Reply

