Polka-Dot Meadow


Polka-dot Meadow

This is a work in progress, but I wanted to share it with you. I rather like the polka-dot flowers against the bands of color in the foreground but am not sure about the egrets. The one in the water I painted out, then sort of put back in. Anyhow, it is that sort of day.

Recently I saw a bumper-sticker that I liked. It read, “I would rather be here right now.” I love that, because it seems to me a lot of the problems in our world stem from people wishing they were somewhere else and so neglecting the place where they are. The ecosystem, the community. Of course as I type this, the wind outside is howling, it is bitterly cold, and there is a bunch of snow on top of ice and I dearly wish I lived somewhere else. Like I said, it is that kind of day. Anyhow, this is where I am right now so I’ll do my best to embrace it.

 

 

28 thoughts on “Polka-Dot Meadow

  1. This warms me right up… πŸ™‚

  2. So strange. Your painting was the first post I saw in my Reader this morning. And the first thing I thought: that is exactly where I want to be right now. But I did go down to the river yesterday afternoon a bit before sunset to watch the Geese and Mallards fly in from I-don’t-know-where to spend the night together on that part of the river. I’ve been going every late afternoon for the last three days. I stay and try to take pictures until my hands are frozen. The sky turns pink and the river turns pink. The sky is not the same when it is warmer. I do miss the warmer weather but I’ve been noticing that the winter here has a particular, majestic beauty.

    I love your grass! I’m so looking forward to walking through tall grass again and seeing so many little flowers and butterflies and grasshoppers! Funny about the egret in the water. He does seem like he is not quite there, like most of him just flew away. I like the flying one a lot. Great curves and I love the color of the background. I can imagine a downy woodpecker on the tree on the right… but that is just me. Looking forward to see how you complete your painting :-).

    • Ha~That is neat, Myriam. You are right, I’ve noticed the light and color are much different when it is cold. It is beautiful, even though I really hate to admit that!
      Thank you~I’m so glad you like the grass with its little dots of flowers. I can imagine a downy woodpecker there too πŸ™‚

  3. Wow, this is amazing. I first thought it was a photo. Gorgeous work, makes me smile Melissa!

  4. Alok Singhal says:

    Enjoy the snow…we are expecting it here in NJ soon πŸ™‚

  5. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    I really like your painting. I look forward to seeing the completed version.
    My best friend made a bumper sticker that says Been There Done That scratched out and under that it says Being Here Doing This. I love it. I have it on my truck.
    Peace,
    Mary

  6. Similar to your bumper sticker was something Bob Dylan wrote in the liner notes on one of his albums. I am ad-libbing as I don’t
    remember exactly…I wouldn’t want to be Shakespeare or Rembrandt…they’re dead. And then there is Baba Ram Dass with “Be here now”. That I can remember. πŸ™‚

    Quite honestly, about the only time I ever really wish to be somewhere else is while at work.

    I think the flying egret is an important part of the image and adds a nice point of interest. It’s an ecosystem and they are vital parts. I mean, the place would be hopping with frogs. One plague of frogs was more than enough. πŸ˜‰ Just kidding…you know how much I love frogs. I know someone else might say that is is a distraction from the flowers in the foreground but I don’t care for that “rule”. I’d like to think our viewers are more than capable of holding their interest in the place we most value with the other spots as complements to the composition. It’s nice to let the eye wander and return.

  7. I love your insights here, Steve. You are right~the instant I daubed in the flying egret he stole the show. Like you I decided I don’t care, he can stay πŸ™‚ He does have a steady supply of frogs in this spot.
    That is funny, about not wanting to be the guy who is dead, and “Be here Now” is good. Words to live by.

  8. panhirsch says:

    Work in progress You say? It can’t possibly get any better ☺

  9. Eliza Waters says:

    I really like the dots of wildflowers in the foreground and the egret in the water is kind of lost, so maybe the one in flight would be enough to focus upon.
    Love your thoughts on the bumper sticker. I totally agree with your whole paragraph! I see photos and read blogs from warmer climes and I feel envious, but have to remind myself that I CHOOSE to live here and there are a lot of good things about that choice. It’s good to hear from someone ‘sharing my pain’ though – lol!

  10. This is just the sort of place I go hunting for in the Spring and Summer months when I want to photograph birds, and wildflowers.
    I really love the Egret flying and don’t really think the one in the water is needed, but that’s me. I can see the woodpecker or a sparrow or two on the trees on the right.

    I love the color palette. Can’t wait to see it done.

    Being where I am now is good. πŸ™‚ The freezing cold I wouldn’t like where you are, but the snow! It just makes everything magical to me.

    • Thank you, Deborah πŸ™‚
      I really appreciate the feedback, and quite agree.
      As I wrote this I thought of each of you, my friends here, and how most of you are indeed living right where you want to be. I’m so happy and inspired by that!

  11. Gunta says:

    Utterly lovely. I’d love to just sink into this spot. But I so agree about liking the place you’re at. It sure do make life a great deal more fun!

    I love all the details in your serene and gorgeous painting, but I think your impulse to ‘disappear’ the egret in the water was the right choice. Near as I can tell, they never swim or dive into water like that… they usually stalk for stuff in the shallows. The flying one is simply divine. Wish I could enlarge the image a bit. My eyes aren’t what they once were and I’m assuming that’s a river.

    • Hi Gunta,
      I could not figure out how to get WP to let me make that image clickable, unfortunately, and that was as big as I could get it. Wish they would quit changing things.
      I’m so glad you like the painting. I agree about the egret in the water, although it is really just a long marshy area, not deep. I painted him out.

  12. Gunta says:

    I totally agree about WP changing things. I hate that they keep ‘fixing’ stuff that works just fine!

    I did puzzle over what that egret was standing in… given WP’s imposed limits and my fading eyesight, I couldn’t quite decide. Just out of curiosity- what size are your paintings?

    • Ack, I know! I did try enlarging the image for the next post at the point of downloading, so we’ll see whether that translates into larger images on everyone’s screens.
      I’d have to get out the measuring tape to be sure but I think that one is 16″x20″. I use wide-gallery wrap canvases and paint the edges black, so frames aren’t necessary.

  13. shoreacres says:

    Such a lovely painting, Melissa. I especially like the double image of the egret — the ethereal one, standing in the water, and the one in flight. It seems like the same egret to me, in two forms — almost as though the bird truly becomes itself only when it takes flight. There’s such a sense of movement and mystery to the image: quite an achievement. Of all the paintings I’ve seen, I really like this one.

    • Oh! I missed this comment before. You know, that is how I was thinking of the egret as I was painting him in flight. In my mind he is still in both places, but I really did think for the strength of the painting it was best to paint him out of the water more completely. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

