Polka-dot Retake


polkadot2

Hello again πŸ™‚

I want to thank all of you for your generous comments and for your feedback. Taking out the egret in the water seemed like a very good idea~what do you think?Β  The scale would be wrong to add smaller birds, I’m afraid. You can really tell the difference a day makes to the grass, too. Today it is snowing, and the light is more dim.

I learn so much from you. How happy I am to have found such wonderful friends in blogland!

Peace and snowflakes to you….unless you live in Texas, in which case, may the frostweed be frosty πŸ™‚

 

 

 

43 thoughts on “Polka-dot Retake

  1. Steve Gingold says:

    This rocks, Melissa. πŸ™‚ You know I liked this with the unregretted egret. The other was unnecessary and this way allows the flyer to get its due along with the lovely foreground of flowers. Nice. πŸ™‚

    • melissabluefineart says:

      I know, and I thought about leaving him in there. One summer we saw great flocks of egrets gathered into the wetlands around here. That was quite a sight. Usually, though, they appear singly (here, anyway) so that is what I finally decided.

      • shoreacres says:

        When I have time, I go over to a nearby bayou to see them roosting. The Audubon society showed up one day, for their Christmas bird count. There’s a mix of white ibis and egrets, and there are hundreds — not a hundred, but maybe seven or eight hundred. It is quite a sight.

      • melissabluefineart says:

        I can imagine it~a great gathering of white birds quietly going about their business. I just finishes reading your post about birds and chatter. I love what you said~ we should be still, and know that we are human.

  2. RMW says:

    Sublime scene… comparing the two paintings I like this one better… too many egrets are distracting… this one egret leads the eye across the painting.

  3. Michael says:

    I love how this turned out. There’s something about seeing the egret through the partial screen of trees that I like– it gives the sense we’re not disturbing it. And so it gives the sense of the egret being in just the right spot in the natural flow of things, and soon that is how I am feeling when I look at this piece. I am feeling the spaciousness of a lone egret rising above the marsh, crossing what looks like an open space, mostly of quiet.

    I also wanted to say something smart alec about removing one of the flowers in the foreground. I wanted to… but I liked them all.

    Peace
    Michael

    • melissabluefineart says:

      And peace to you, Michael. My favorite artist, Robert Bateman, is great at placing his creatures into a painting in such a way that they feel they are in exactly the right place. For you to say that about my painting is just about the nicest thing you could have said~thank you so much. As to my polka-dot flowers, chuckle chuckle…I had so much fun putting them in~couldn’t possibly part with any of them πŸ™‚

  4. Gallivanta says:

    Now you have me wondering what this would be like without an egret at all. I think it would not be right. It needs the egret. But what I love most about this painting is the foreground.

  5. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says:

    No egret regrets :-D. Your painting looks perfect. (I imagine the smaller birds and butterflies in my head… I can change the species whenever I like!) I am now wondering where the egret is going…

    Very cool that you once saw a flock of egrets! I saw one flying, one tree perching and one water strutting in Arizona. My life egret count!

      • melissabluefineart says:

        Me too! πŸ™‚
        I was lucky to butterfly monitor at Illinois Beach State Park. My season stretched from April to September and was chock full of rare butterflies. The park boasts over 40 species! Wow! I had so much fun. Sigh. Now I’m old and running over dunes and through poison ivy to net a skipper has lost its appeal LOL.
        I’m tickled that you looked up the Melissa Blue. It is a pretty little thing, isn’t it? And it likes mud, so I felt a strong affinity. Karner Blues used to live at IBSP, but the last ones were netted and killed (!!! 😦 ) in the 80’s by some collectors. I never took specimens, only notes.

  6. Jane says:

    Love it, Melissa. The colours, the composition, the textures and the light make for a very atmospheric painting. I wasn’t here for the discussion about the egret, but I like what you’ve done. πŸ™‚

  7. Liz says:

    Beautiful painting, Melissa, and I think some element of ‘movement’ can really enhance a picture. But overall, you have to be happy with it in your bones – it doesn’t matter what anyone else says. Go with your instinct, girl!! πŸ™‚

  8. newyorknorthfineart says:

    Ahhh… such a lovely peaceful painting Melissa. I love it. And yes, I like it with the egret out too. I always enjoy seeing your work, and reading your posts. What a great bumpersticker! Wish I had it…. it would be on my car! Thanks for sharing this. ~Rita

Leave a Reply

