Light Catcher


appletreespiderwebIn the back corner of my garden there lives an old apple tree. There isn’t much left of it and a wet snow this winter took down another big section of it. Still, I love that tree and enjoy the woodpeckers  who like to visit it now.  One afternoon last summer I came across this huge web~it had been spun right in the circle created by a hanging branch, and the slanting sunlight had picked out its delicate strands. I really liked how it lit up that dark corner!

Last week was pretty eventful… I found a wee gallery right in the middle of Main Street to rent. Wow! So there has been lots of running around~bank, State Revenue office for a tax ID number, business license, etc etc. Hopefully this week will be the fun stuff~moving in and making it mine 🙂 It has been a dream of mine for a very long time. To have a place where I can talk to people one on one and they can get to know me and my work. I expect it will be a place of poetry reading (not mine) and who knows, maybe I can get a paint club going. Wouldn’t that be fun? I’ll keep you updated. Can’t wait to order my signs and put them up.

 

44 thoughts on “Light Catcher

  1. Kim says:

    First, I like the old oak tree and web. We too have a few old dead trees that the woodpeckers frequent – it never gets old. Secondly, WOW I couldn’t be more excited for you and your new adventure. I wish I lived nearby and could come for a visit. High Fives and I’m sending wishes for many happy times and experiences! Hope you share photos as soon as you can! xo kim

  2. Jim Ruebush says:

    I don’t like spiders. They are my phobia. But, I do appreciate what they do and how they weave very clever and interesting webs. Nice job capturing this one.

    Congratulation on the store front. It must be exciting to realize a dream like that. May it all pan out to be fun and open new and interesting doors.

    • melissabluefineart says:

      Thank you so much, Deborah! I really am so excited.
      I’m so glad you like the painting, too. I feel uncertain about it. When it is in strong sunlight all of the colors show up and I feel happy with it, but when the light is less bright I begin to have grave doubts….your kindness means so much!

      • circadianreflections says:

        Just as it in nature! Spider webs in sunlight are pretty, and inspire curiosity, and awe. Don’t you love them after a rain or covered in dew gleaming in the sun like diamond encrusted jewels? I do and seek them out while on walks.

        But in the dark, or shadows they give us the creeps, well, me anyway b/c then I think of the Spiders and they can be scary! 🙂 If your painting evokes both emotions I think you’ve created a Masterpiece!

  3. Gunta says:

    How thrilling for you (and us, too!) We can say we knew you when…
    Wishing you great good luck in your new venture. May the year of the Monkey be a great one for you!

      • melissabluefineart says:

        Thank you so much, Gunta! Charlotte, I’m afraid, retired modestly after her endeavor, and declined to be in the painting. I would have liked to have seen the creature who spun it 🙂
        Thank you for your support. Even though we are so far away, it makes such a difference knowing I have friends who are excited about the gallery with me 🙂

  4. Steve Schwartzman says:

    Your post calls up a couple of proverbs. The Germans say that Aller Anfang ist schwer, All beginnings are difficult. The Chinese tell us that even the longest journey begins with the first step, so you’re on your way.

    Once your gallery is up and running, we’ll expect to see some photographs, or perhaps even a painting of it along with the paintings in it.

  5. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says:

    Love the light in your painting :-)! It makes me miss spider webs… I like walking next to them but not into them. Congratulations on renting your own gallery! Sounds like you have some cool ideas for the space.

  6. Jane says:

    You know I’m fond of spiders and their webs so I especially like that you’ve included one in your painting. I love the use of light in this beautiful piece. How exciting that you have gallery space to rent! It will be wonderful for people to be able to interact with you about your paintings and passions, Melissa. Best wishes. 🙂

    • melissabluefineart says:

      Thank you, Jane 🙂 It was a great summer for spiders here.
      I wish you could be here to visit in my gallery and go out on trails here. I long to visit your stomping grounds but I’m definitely not a traveler so that won’t happen except in my imagination.

  7. Steve Gingold says:

    Woo-Hoo for Melissa! 🙂 That is awesome news. I am quite happy for you. Of course, I guess this commitment means you are staying put for a while which might be a good thing. People know you which makes remaining where you are an asset. You have a lot of folks here pulling for you. And a paint club and/or lessons sounds like a good way to encourage success. Most professional photographers make the bulk of their income from workshops and tours. A painting workshop might help with the rent. 🙂

    I am quite fond of spiders (we allow them all the household corners they wish) and have seen these ray illuminated webs so often while walking trails, although I can’t remember a painting with one as prominent as yours. Lovely in my book.

    • melissabluefineart says:

      Thank you so much for your enthusiasm and support, Steve! I didn’t know that was how professional photographers kept afloat~makes good sense.
      I always keep a pet spider or two in the house as well. My children used to feed them when they were small, and then we noticed that some of their friends stopped coming over! Oh, well 🙂

  8. shoreacres says:

    As always, I’m late to the party, but that might be good. I can inject a fresh note of enthusiasm for your new venture, and even more good wishes. It is an exciting step, and opens every kind of new possibility.

    I noticed Steve’s comment about long journeys beginning with a single step. I’ve always enjoyed Woody Allen’s paraphrase: “The longest journeys begin with a single step, but the best journeys begin with a moment of temporary insanity.”

    Here’s to a lifetime of creative craziness!

  9. Liz says:

    So sorry to take a while to comment on this post – especially such an exciting one – your own gallery! That’s fabulous! 😀🎨 Can’t wait to hear all about it as time goes on. Meanwhile, this painting is beautiful – the spider’s web is mesmerizing – you feel like you could fall into it, like Alice in Wonderland… 😀😀😀

Leave a Reply

