Joy


Joy

It has been a busy few weeks here. First, a delightful visit from Steve Schwartzman and his wife Eve from down in Texas. He writes a wonderful blog called “Portraits of Wildflowers“. If you don’t already read his blog, check it out. You’ll enjoy it.

There are still chances to drop into the studio, and one day a lovely young mother stopped in to see the paintings. She was from India, and she told me that nature means a great deal to her and that she always feels joyful when she can get out into it. She raised her arms in glee, talking about it. I’ve been wanting to paint people connecting with nature and it struck me that this was a great way to show the feeling I want to convey. What if I had a woman celebrating the natural world, and placed her in a field of flowers?ย  This won’t be a portrait~just a person feeling joyful. Will it work? Will it look hokey? I’m not sure but I’m enjoying the process.

Also, it is farmer’s market season in my town. On Wednesday afternoons it takes place right in front of my gallery~how great is that? Last week I carried out a small canvas and some paint. It was a fun way to let people know I’m here. Here is what I painted:

sidewalk painting

no masterpiece, to be sure, but a fun little cutie.ย  I hope all of you are having a wonderful summer week!

33 thoughts on “Joy

  1. shoreacres says:

    I think if you’re enjoying the process of translating your joyful visitor into a painting, that joy will be communicated through your art.

    There are some sketch artists who work at my favorite farmers’ market, too. It’s fun to watch them create, and they always draw an interested crowd. One always brings produce to sell, too, and has one of her kids oversee that. As she says, the produce guarantees that she’ll always go home with some change in her pocket, even if none of her art sells. It’s a practical attitude, but she does sell a sketch now and then. I hope the same for you!

    • melissabluefineart says:

      Thank you, I hope I do too one of these days. Right now it is just great to be out there and introducing people to my studio, inviting them in to look around. It is a great opportunity to get a sense of what people respond to , also. The artist who brings produce is smart.

  2. Steve Schwartzman says:

    How nice that the woman from India dropped in, and also that you incorporated her upraised arms into a painting of nature, which she and you both love. I’ll bet she would have enjoyed all the places you took us to when we were there.

    Your wish for a wonderful summer week is apt down here, where the high temperatures have been well up into the 90s. One day we even had a heat index of 109ยฐ. I saw in a television weather forecast this morning that the high in Milwaukee today is predicted to be only 78ยฐโ€”practically winter.

  3. Kim says:

    Melissa – I’ve missed your blogs. Somehow I’ve screwed up my wordpress accounts, and I have tried everything I know to fix and no such luck. I don’t get email notices of blog posts anymore and I don’t go to the reader – I don’t think of it. You know out of sight out of mind. I have a lot of catching up to do.
    I love the thought behind the process of connecting people to nature and yes, Joy is lovely and you captured that feeling so well with the arms spread open. That is how I feel when I am dancing in my mind among my wildflower fields. Hope you are well. xo Kim

  4. Steve Gingold says:

    At first I thought your visitor was Joy, then the woman in the painting, and finally understood it to be the feeling which not enough of us experience.
    You are so fortunate to have your gallery and the opportunity for people come in, enjoy your art, and spend time getting to share a few moments of their lives with you…and a bit of inspiration too.

    • melissabluefineart says:

      You’re right, Steve, I was all focused on inspiring people with my art. I wasn’t expecting them to come in and inspire my art! I am fortunate indeed. I don’t think I’ll have this space past the 2 year mark but I’m really loving it while it lasts.

  5. Jane says:

    I love this, Melissa! How wonderful to have her visit and motivate you to capture a joyful piece such as this. I’m glad you were able to meet Steve and his wife too. I hope one day to meet him, you and my other blogger friends on a trip to the US. Best wishes. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says:

    The woman among the flowers is very joyful indeed! I like it when you include people in your paintings. It evokes that sense of connection between humans and the natural environment. Glad you are enjoying your summer and having fun painting outside. I’m enjoying the July thunderstorms here. So powerful!

Leave a Reply

