…And a Dragon


Illinois Dragonfly Painting

Small original painting by Melissa Blue of a red dragonfly on native flower.

There is a lovely woman at the farmer’s market every week who brings cut flowers from her garden to sell. It must be a small farm, really, because what she brings is really impressive. As much as I love fresh organic vegetables, fresh cut flowers are a real lift to the week! Her space is right in front of my studio and we get to talking a bit as I sit there painting. She asked me to paint something small and colorful for a gift for her mom. This is the painting I did for her. I really love this little flower Β for its light airy feel and gentle pink color. The attraction is mutual…later, it will form broad flat seeds that adhere to my jeans when I brush past. The dragonfly is one of several species I see flying at Illinois Beach this time of year.

I’ve been without a computer for a week. That will certainly make you realize how much you rely on one! The old one has been slowing down and balking more and more but I didn’t realize how bad it was until finally I just went out and bought a replacement. This new little Mac is solid-state and lightening quick. I’m having a lot of fun learning it’s controls and loving how intuitive it is.

 

38 thoughts on “…And a Dragon

  1. Steve Schwartzman says:

    Your computer purchase must be why Apple stock went up this week.

    A few weeks ago the main hard drive in my Macintosh died and I spent much time over the next couple of days getting everything back in order. Not fun.

    That’s one colorful dragonfly you’ve got there. I wish I’d seen one at Illinois Beach.

  2. melissabluefineart says:

    Ouch~that isn’t fun. I do have this one insured but the other one was so old and had accumulated so much crud I just wanted to start over.
    We do get lots of different dragonflies in July. There is a very large green and blue one that will hover at eye level and fly along with you as you walk the trail. That one is kind of fun but it never lands so I haven’t gotten a photo of it. A better photographer than I could get it on the fly.

  3. Steve Gingold says:

    Lovely. Your dragon reminds me of a cherry-faced meadowhawk.

    I replaced my old sluggish Dell with a new custom built computer from Puget Systems last year. It’s a great performer. I hope you continue to be as happy with yours as I am with mine. It has two hard drives with one being a solid state like yours.

    • melissabluefineart says:

      Thanks, Steve. It could well be a cherry-faced meadow hawk. I don’t know my dragonflies at all. These are sweet little ones that will pose for me.
      It’s great to have a new computer, isn’t it?

  4. shoreacres says:

    A new computer’s great fun, isn’t it? I have a newish one, too. I’ve had it only since May, but the speed is great, and the confidence that comes with having such a great backup system is wonderful. I had a chance to try out the uninterruptable power supply last week, and it was so nice to have the computer sit there and smile after the power went out. I had plenty of time to finish what I was doing and shut it down properly.

    I really like your dragonfly. I’m far more aware of them than I used to be, and I’m surprised by how many species I’ve seen — maybe 8 or 10. I’ve not been able to get photos of them all, but I have a few that make me happy. You’re right that “in-flight” is hard. It’s much nicer when they oblige us by perching here or there.

    Last week, I was able to coax a damselfly onto my finger for the first time. It was such fun to gaze into those tiny little eyes!

  5. Jane says:

    I certainly would have enjoyed such a special gift. I wish I was able to visit your studio. I am thankful to enjoy your beautiful pieces via the magic of Internet though. πŸ™‚

  6. Gunta says:

    What a delicate, wonderful painting. I’m sure your flower lady’s mom will totally love it! Oddly enough, my computer was down for awhile, too. It was invaded by some evil gremlin. I’m buried in emails and posts to visit, but I’m particularly glad to have caught this one of yours! πŸ˜€

  7. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says:

    Beautiful painting :-). I love the delicate flowers and dragonfly. I’ve been enjoying watching dragonflies this summer – so many colours, shapes and patterns – and a bit time consuming to identify – especially the immature ones! I like what you said about mutual attraction! I’m always surprised to find seed pods velcroed to my jeans when I come home from walking in tall grasses. And I also appreciate how fast my computer (yay, solid state drive!) and internet connection are.

  8. melissabluefineart says:

    Thank you Myriam πŸ™‚
    I didn’t realize dragonflies have immature stages! I haven’t dipped my toes into learning to identify them at all but I do like to watch them. Haha, yeah, my jeans are a mess in the fall.
    Yay, solid state drives! That was a good development.

Leave a Reply

