Pickerel Weed


pickerel-weed

Melissa Blue Fine ArtΒ 

Pickerel Weed is such a wonderful plant, standing tall right at the edge of water where I like to hang out. Frogs lurk here, snakes sometimes slither, herons stalk while dragonflies hang in the air taunting us mud-bound creatures.

For years I have been playing it safe with my paintings. The occasional expert would look quizzically at me and ask why I was holding back. I would pretend I didn’t know what they meant. However, the more I enjoy all of the amazing blogs I find here, the more I realize that simply recording the wonders and beauty of nature can be done far better with a camera. Oh, there is photorealism, of course, but I always found that a bit pretentious. And so, it is time to take a deep breath and jump into whatever pools of creativity my heart and paintbrush can take me to. My best college professor would stand at our elbow, urging us to push ourselves, and then push further. At the time I felt it was all I could do to generate a good composition and overall image. Every canvas was like leaping into a deep lake and swimming across. I’d get to the far shore panting, relieved just to have made it, let alone worried about the style with which I got there. You don’t want to know how long ago that was! Well, you might but I don’t want to tell you πŸ™‚ At this point I feel I may well drown, or retreat back to the muddy shore I’m so fond of. But I’m going to try being brave, pushing myself into expressing whatever it is that my soul wants to express about the natural world. It’s wordless, so don’t ask me to explain!

“Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one’s courage.” ~ Anais Nin

 

 

33 thoughts on “Pickerel Weed

  1. Mind Margins says:

    Good for you for stepping out of the safety zone. I feel exactly the same way about my knitting. Do I stick with the tried and true, or try something more adventurous and “free?” I say, let’s do both!

  2. Gunta says:

    Can’t wait to see this adventure unfold! I’m sure that with your sense of beauty you can definitely go with wherever this stretching will take you! So, what have you got to lose? I’m excited for you!

  3. Eliza Waters says:

    “expressing whatever it is that my soul wants to express about the natural world.” That is it in a nutshell – pure and simple! And there is no right or wrong – it’s all good! πŸ™‚ Yay, for you, Melissa. Looking forward to your evolvement. πŸ™‚

  4. shoreacres says:

    I love the strong, vertical lines in your painting. There’s the pickerel weed flower, of course, and its leaves, but there are those other lines on the right that are so intriguing. Sometimes, they seem to be rising, like smoke. Then, I look again, and think of rain replenishing the pond.

    Capturing rising and falling in one image is a neat trick, but you did it. I can’t wait to see what comes next.

    Your musings about opening yourself to your own creativity reminded me of a passage from Annie Dillard I once wrote down:

    “The texture of the world, its filigree and scrollwork, means that there is the possibility for beauty here, a beauty inexhaustible in its complexity which opens to my knock, which answers in me a call I do not remember calling, and which trains me to the wild and extravagant nature of the spirit I seek.”

    • melissabluefineart says:

      Wow, she put it really well. Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful response to my painting. I really wasn’t sure what I was doing~just sort of groping along with color until suddenly it resolved itself. “Oh”, I said to myself. So I was quite surprised by the curving lines but I rather like them too. πŸ™‚

  5. Steve Gingold says:

    This is one of my favorites of your work, Melissa. And you are just getting started, so to speak. πŸ™‚
    I chuckled at your comment about photo-realism. I have decided to get out my old collection of Prismacolor pencils, along with adding some new ones as well as Faber-Castells and doing just that…photo-realistic pencil works of nature. Of course, I have done nothing of the kind in ballpark 40 years, so I am starting at cave painting. So far it is not a pretty sight. πŸ™‚

    • melissabluefineart says:

      Thank you so much Steve. You’re right, I feel like I am just beginning πŸ™‚ When I made that crack about photo-realism, I wasn’t thinking of all of my friends who enjoy doing it. I was thinking of a small snooty group of artists who seized control of the art department at my local college and, from that platform, held sway over the way art is perceived here. Needless to say, my work has always been OUT as far as this establishment has been concerned! 😦
      I am tickled to learn that you are picking up your pencils once again. I would love to see what you do with them.

    • melissabluefineart says:

      Oh yes I’m familiar with that resistance. I’ve found that being gentle with yourself is the best way forward. For example, you could get them out and place them in a comfortable place where you might want to work. And then go have a treat, like a walk or something. Another day, simply spend 5-15 minutes (use a timer), playing. Don’t try for anything serious, just make some marks. Gradually the part within that is resisting will feel safe and will let you continue.

  6. jane tims says:

    Although I also love the photos I see, I love to see the artistic interpretations of what people see. They make me pay attention to the ‘real’. An example would be the wavy vertical lines in the upper right hand corner of your painting …. Make me realize the water is moving with respect to the plant ( the stems in the painting are vertical as well). Very nice!

Leave a Reply

