Autumn in the Woods


autumn-in-grant-woodsMelissa Blue Fine Art

Grant Woods was the first forest preserve I became aware of. It has been in the capable hands of its stewards Joyce and George Proper for quite some time now. It is filled with surprises and when Joyce takes me for a walk I am always in for a treat, no matter the season. We came across this spot last fall, a lovely little savanna at the edge between an interesting meadow and a forest. The jewel like colors make my heart sing~ I hope they lift your heart as well.

28 thoughts on “Autumn in the Woods

    • melissabluefineart says:

      Thank you! No, Grant Woods is part of Lake County Forest Preserve District. We voters approved purchasing bonds, (I believe), and now we own LOTS of land here in Lake County Illinois. It is pretty great. In Grant Woods alone there is a bog, an extremely rare remnant of prairie that was never plowed, and a stand of woods that shelter a 350 yr old bur oak. There is a professional staff of biologists in charge of these preserves, and maintaining their ecological health is a joint effort between the staff and volunteers.

  1. Steve Gingold says:

    I always look forward to the brilliant sumac reds of autumn and especially appreciate that in your painting, Melissa. I am hoping our drought isn’t going to affect them here but that remains to be seen. I am seeing some color. We are looking for a rainy weekend.
    I like the progression of colors up to red and then into the yellows with hints of red and orange. Lovely palette.

    • melissabluefineart says:

      Thank you Steve. I really like sumac, too. Like you I’ve been worried there won’t be any color this year. I have it in my garden and about the time a leaf turns red it also drops. sigh. But it is raining~ are you getting some now too?

  2. Gunta says:

    You’ve truly captured the essence of autumn. Is there a blue spot in there, or are my eyes going wonky? A bird perhaps? Whatever it is, it’s lovely! And, yes I like your style!!!

Leave a Reply

