Spring Beauty


Spring Beautymelissabluefineart.com

This past weekend I was asked to paint on location at a new store in our area, called Summer’s Boutique. It is a wonderful shop featuring up-cycled furniture and art objects. If you are in the area, look it up. You’ll be delighted with the treasures you’ll find.

I had it in mind to createΒ a demure botanical painting with a nearly white background. By now I should know, that just wasn’t going to happen! Yesterday the painting and I had a long discussion, and this is how things turned out. I’ll never be invited to join a botanical art society, that’s for sure πŸ™‚

50 thoughts on “Spring Beauty

  1. Yay, thank you so much Angela! Say, what are you up to these days? Are you writing a blog I don’t know about?

  2. Anarette says:

    Beautiful! You inspire me to start painting again. Wished there were more than 24 hours in a day.

  3. Phil Ryan says:

    This is particularly lovely πŸ™‚

  4. Giggles! I think it would be impossible to find that flower in nature with a white or nearly white background! I love the delicate petals. And I can imagine it on the lush floor of a little forest clearing with some nearby flowers to keep it company. πŸ™‚

  5. Great! really love this. I was just walking in a big old conservatory this weekend, and getting impatient for spring and to see some flowers outside, this picture helps! πŸ™‚

  6. Eliza Waters says:

    I think it turned out marvelously~ πŸ™‚

  7. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Oh, I just love it! The flowers and all the surrounding colors! The sky is fantastic!

  8. Jim Ruebush says:

    Your ‘discussion’ turned out a beautiful result.

  9. Robyn Haynes says:

    There is something joyful and glowing about this painting. Isn’t not knowing what will evolve such a pleasure?

  10. Yes, Robyn, the not knowing is everything. I’m delighted the joy comes through! Thank you!

  11. shoreacres says:

    This is lovely, Melissa. I’m as fond of the leaves as of the bloom. There’s just something about that sinuous reach that appeals to me. I saw some first iris blooming in a ditch last weekend, with their own long leaves. When my ditch diamonds start appearing, it truly is spring.

    • I’m tickled you like the leaf~I really worked on that. It is a funny coincidence that you mention a ditch. What I started to write in my post was the story of where I found this particular flower growing, and its provenance. It was going to be a complaint about the village I live in insisting on putting curbs on my street, creating a severe flooding problem which they are now going to solve by giving us our very own ditch! The spring beauties sprang up from the fill they used from the curb to the sidewalk, and which they will now be digging up. But I shall rescue my little spring beauties, and then I shall fill my ditch with ditch diamonds πŸ™‚

    • Did you make up the expression “ditch diamond” or have you encountered it elsewhere? Either way, it’s new to me.

  12. I think it’s simple and elegant! I love your skies and the colors you choose to make them. An all white background can be boring too.

  13. This is wonderful and the feeling so peaceful!

  14. stbarbebaker says:

    This is very wonderful, I love the way the petals are catching the light and shadows just right, perfectly accented against an intriguing background

  15. What a lovely flower. I may not make it to the furniture store, but I am thrilled that you painted this for them

  16. Thank you so much, Eddie. You are so kind.

  17. The upper flower struck me as a white butterfly.

  18. I just looked up Claytonia virginica and found that it’s in a botanical family I’ve never heard of, Montiaceae, known as the miner’s lettuce family. Then I learned that I’d never heard of it because it’s new. According to Wikipedia: “The family Montiaceae was newly adopted in the APG III system and includes members of the Caryophyllales formerly listed in Portulacaceae.”

  19. I confess I don’t pay a lot of attention to families, especially in recent years when the botanists are busy with their shell game. I also confess I liked botany better before gene sequencing~it feels like they are taking the mystery out of things.

  20. Forget the botanical art societies. It’s a beautiful picture.

  21. Lovely – and I’m partial to color so yeah to no white background! The delicate stamens and fine lines of red/pink color on the petal – perfect.

  22. Thanks Kim! Color is just too much fun to pass up πŸ™‚

  23. bluebrightly says:

    Botanical art can be so stiff! I love it when someone has the knowledge to convey the details, at least some of them, but also the sense to convey the feeling of a plant, and to play with it a little. I trust you enjoyed yourself and I’m sure others enjoyed watching! I love those fine, thread-like pink lines – my favorite part of that plant. And the sense of delight.

  24. Gallivanta says:

    I love the richness of the background. Have I ever linked you to the amazing Marianne North?…..she didn’t do demure botanical paintings either. http://www.kew.org/mng/marianne-north-gallery.html I like the idea of painting on location in a store. Wish more stores would do that.

  25. Thank you! And, oh yes, Marianne North’s work is just wonderful. Thank you for the link, I really enjoyed prowling through the collections. She doesn’t seem to be much mentioned. I wonder why?

Leave a Reply

