A Tree Grows in Grayslake


Bur Oak Silhouette (1)     Bur Oak Silhouette

 

There is something so deeply satisfying about a grand old open-growth bur oak tree, standing there against the horizon. I see this one nearly every day as I drive past it, and thank God and the forest preserve district that it didn’t fall victim to developers. I’ve wanted to paint it for some time, and probably will do another from a closer vantage point. But when I saw this sky, I though the two would work perfectly to convey the power and spaciousness of nature. Often my paintings take weeks to months to complete, but this one came together in just a few sessions over the course of a week.

24 thoughts on “A Tree Grows in Grayslake

  1. This is wonderful.
    There are solitary oaks like this, in the Genesee Valley (in NY), some over 200 years old, and this painting reminds me of walking on the river flats there, with the clouds blowing in from the west. I really love this!

    1. Thank you Robert. It thrills me that my painting reminds you of a favorite place.

  2. Love the colors and composition. Hope you get to paint the other perspective soon too.

  3. I love finding solitary trees, whether lovely oaks as yours, other shapely trees or even gnarly misshapen ones. But here in New England the forests dominate the natural settings so it’s more a case of finding some way to separate them from their surroundings. My next post will be an effort in that direction.
    I enjoy the colors of your sky and the similarity of shapes with the tree and clouds.The lower sky reminds me of the evening creamy yellow that Homer often portrayed at the shore.

    1. Oh, he did, didn’t he? I knew it was reminding me of something. I love solitary trees, too but I also adore thick forest. You did a glorious job of separating out the tree in your foggy post.

  4. Very magnificent. You have framed the tree delightfully in front of the majestic clouds in the sky Well done

    1. Thank you so much! Your words mean a great deal to me.

  5. The sky and the clouds are a lovely backdrop for the tree silhouette. Wish I had that view on my way home. As Steve writes, it’s hard to find a lone tree in the New England landscape. For a lone oak, I go the California coastal hills, where I get to visit fairly often.

    1. Thank you so much, Tom.
      You are fortunate in both respects, I think, to see trees in profusion and also to be able to visit the hills of California.

  6. I love, love, the sky and it’s a perfect foil for the solitary oak.

  7. The sky is majestic!! I love the lonely tree.

    1. Thank you Deborah! I struggled a bit to get those layers of clouds to look right. I’m so glad you like it, and “my” tree 🙂

  8. Beautiful colors, and echoing shapes! You’re lucky to see that solitary oak on a regular basis.

    1. Thank you! I really am, and I hope it lives for a long time to come.

  9. This is one of those times when you up there and we down here get to share a species, given that Quercus macrocarpa grows in central Texas. While you see yours almost every day, I rarely encounter a bur oak here, most likely because this is the southern end of its range.

    When you wrote that “I’ve wanted to paint it for some time,” my literal mind imagined you moving a big paint brush up and down the tree’s trunk.

    1. …And the tree says, “Stop that, it tickles!”

  10. There’s something about seeing a lone tree against a spreading horizon that I find compelling, and you’ve captured the experience wonderfully well. I’m struck by the contrast between the solidity of the tree, rooted to its ground, and the ephemeral clouds. At first, your choice of colors surprised me, but the more I looked, the more I thought they were just right.

    I have a large bowl filled with bur oak acorns from a tree in Council Grove, Kansas. That tree dates to 1776, more or less, and it’s almost as splendid as yours. The one disadvantage it suffers is being in the middle of town. Still, it’s a great tree, and I’m glad to have the acorns as a remembrance of it. Now, you have your painting as a remembrance of your tree — and perhaps some acorns, too.

    1. It is a mast year, so it might be a good idea to go collect some. For some reason oaks are not regenerating on their own here so the forest preserve plants seedlings every year. We have quite a few wonderful old oaks in our county, but they are all the same age and so one sad day in the not too distant future we will have lost them all. Already some are down come spring.

  11. Melissa… this is wonderful! There is just ‘something’ about a lonely oak and you’ve captured it so well! You reminded me of the many oaks like that in some of the hills in northern California. I had one photograph that turned out pretty well, but others I tried, not so much! That was back in the days when shooting landscapes was still relatively new for me.

  12. Thank you Gunta! You’re right, there is something about a lone oak standing out there, holding up its end of the world. Like you I’ve made a few stabs at capturing this and haven’t been happy with the results. You’ve certainly mastered shooting landscapes now!

Leave a Reply

Automatic Gardening & Real Gluten Free Food

My quest to garden year-round without adding new plants. My second quest is to find GF recipes.

Katrina Head

Artist in the south of France

Kip Walkin

Welcome to Kip Walkin. The site for inspired & original poetry, quotes, articles and stories....as products of Pen on Paper!

The Prairie Ecologist

Essays, photos, and discussion about prairie ecology, restoration, and management

twenty-one words

(tales from the birdgirl)

Doodlewash®

Adventures in Watercolor Painting and Sketching, Watercolour Magazine, with Charlie O'Shields

The Obama Diary

President Barack Obama ... photos, videos & a word or two

bluebrightly

Wanderings & observations

talainsphotographyblog

Nature photography

sabinewaldmannbrun

Farbe. Linie. Sehen.

Swamp Yankee Style

Country life, Done simple! DIY Projects, Family Recipes, Thrifty Tips and Farmyard fun!

The Art Dive

Art Pickings from Exhibitions, Articles, Books, and the Web

Photos by Donna

It's all about the jouney.....not the destination!

The Wandering Armadillo

I am the "little armored one", moving gently through life. Hoping to safeguard my sensitivities with layers of words and the expression of thought. Shielding my mirror neurons at times, or tasting music and spinning till I'm dizzy. Every moment here is a gift.

Soul Lines - Diary of a Soul Writer

Living life like there is a tomorrow

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

Pete Hillman's Nature Photography

Photographing the beauty and wonder of Staffordshire wildlife and more

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close