Shimmering Sumac


shimmering-sumacMelissa Blue Fine Art

For several years the Lake County Forest Preserve District has been working to complete a green corridor that would run from Cook County to the south to the Wisconsin border to the north. This summer saw this project completed! An entire series of preserves has been linked together along the Des Plaines River, so that species aren’t trapped in isolated islands of habitat. A wonderful trail system reaches the entire length~some 30 miles, I believe. It was along this trail that I came across this patch of sumac last fall. I was enchanted by how they seemed to be tumbling down the hill like playful children, dressed warmly in their colorful fall sweaters.

53 thoughts on “Shimmering Sumac

      • circadianreflections says:

        Hi Melissa!

        No worries dear friend! I’m so behind I feel blessed to be able to see this and say hi to you this morning almost in “real time”!

        I’ve been out shooting every week-end or shopping for a new house out of state which keeps me off the computer processing images, posting, and reading blogs. I don’t know if I’ll ever catch up.

      • circadianreflections says:

        We’re looking but one state over so we’ll still be within driving distance of our children and #1 Grandson.
        In all likelihood we wouldn’t be moving straight-away, but have a house in place when we retire. Nothing is definite. I’d like to look in two other states, but: time and $$$.

  1. Steve Schwartzman says:

    Nice going with those sumacs, which lean increasingly more as the eye moves from right to left. I’m glad to see you’re following your more-abstract bent.

    It’s good to hear about the linking up of those previously separated parcels. Do you plan to hike the entire route (even if in stages)?

    • melissabluefineart says:

      Hello Steve~how are the travels?
      Yes, I’m really enjoying playing with the paint in a more abstract-y way. I’m so glad you like it.

      The completed trail really is quite an accomplishment. Over the years I have hiked most of it but my hiking days are behind me. I can barely make a mile these days and then it is straight to the Advil bottle for me.

      • Steve Schwartzman says:

        Since we left Austin on October 16th we’ve spent most of our time in one desert or another. Yesterday evening we reached Bakersfield in the central valley of California and put an end (for the moment) to deserts. Next stop: the San Francisco Bay area.

        I’m sorry to hear about your Advil-y hiking but glad you covered most portions of that trail at one time or another. For me, the hardest part of the current trip has been dealing with the occasional high altitudes, which cause me to get easily winded when walking uphill. It’s been worth it, though, for the sake of seeing nature and taking pictures.

      • Steve Schwartzman says:

        From what I can tell, the Jackalopes are restricted to Texas. We’ve seen a few rabbits in the desert, but they bounded away quickly and I couldn’t tell what kind of rabbits they were.

        The desert has been great. Our two favorite places so far have been Zion National Park (the only one of Utah’s five national parks that we didn’t make it to on our visit to the state two decades ago) and Valley of Fire State Park in Nevada. During our visit to that second one we had murky skies and even some rain, which prevented us from seeing as much of the place as we’d have liked, so a return at some other time would be well worth itβ€”probably not on this trip, however.

      • melissabluefineart says:

        Oh that’s right, they are endemic to Texas, aren’t they? The names of the deserts are so evocative. I’m sorry you got rained out of the Valley of Fire. What a disappointment. But, as you say, an opportunity for a future jaunt.

      • Steve Schwartzman says:

        Luckily the rain didn’t last more than half an hour or so, and Eve used the time to buy a few things at the visitor center. We still managed to spend the whole afternoon at the park and were rewarded with a sunset as the sun shone through the clouds.

  2. shoreacres says:

    I’d been hoping to see sumac on my trip. It was such a wonderful complement to the prairies the last time I was here. Unfortunately, the Kansas sumac seems to have finished its autumn show. I did see what I believe to be a different species in southern Missouri and Arkansas: some in woods, and some on prairies. It will be interesting to figure out what it is.

    It’s odd, how some things, like the sumac, can be nothing but branches now, while many of the trees I’d expected to be yellow and gold hardly have begun to turn. I have hopes for the cottonwoods, though. The farther west I travel, the more color I’m seeing. At this point, I’m almost to Colorado, and yes: I have thought about how pretty the aspens might be!

    • melissabluefineart says:

      You are right~there are two species. Stag horn and smooth, or Rhus glabra. I find them at the edges between trees and prairie here, so am not sure which is more associated with prairie. Perhaps the stag horn, as it is fuzzy which would help protect it from drying winds. I’m sorry you are not getting much of a show. We aren’t here, either this year. Apparently we had more of a drought than I realized here. It is raining now, though. I hope it saves my pines!

  3. melissabluefineart says:

    Yes, we are working hard to improve the health of the forests along the river and they are really responding. When I was a girl growing up in this area there was a large, beautiful farm I’d admire. Some years spent in Peoria, then a move back. I was overjoyed to see a sign announcing that the farm was now a preserve, with its rolling land, stream, wetlands and trees. I cried with relief~it could so easily have become some developer’s bank account!

Leave a Reply

